Skip to content

On the Dekhan

August 1, 2011

They drive Mercedes North of Afghanistan

in the land of cotton, watermelon, and dekhans.

All the Tajik farmers ride their bikes to work and back

while their owners cruise on by in their Benzs painted black

I don’t envy those farmers their hard and hot day’s work

but I sure do envy their leaders and the cars they drive to work.

I’m just a young American, I work as hard as I can

I thought I had it made with my Subaru , until I saw Tajikistan.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 18:48

    beautifully sad but so very interesting.. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

