Skip to content

The Big Red Island

February 25, 2013

Hello and welcome back to my blog- it’s been a long while since a I posted, and I welcome all newcomers who have expressed an interest in following my adventure over the next 2 years to the Big Red Island, or Madagascar.

I am writing this post with 3 days until I depart my lovely home in Northern Idaho, 6 days until I leave the Left Coast for Washington DC, and 8 days until I leave the country for the wiles and beguiles of Madagascar. I could keep this post short, and simply say “Good Bye!” but I’ll drag it on instead, as I feel that there is some background to this saga that my lovely friends, family, and co-workers deserve.

It only took my 2 years and 3 months to do it, but I finally, after one false start, am actually really truly going to be a Peace Corps Volunteer in Madagascar. Though I was chomping at the bit to take off anywhere upon my return from Tajikistan in 2011, I am really glad that the past year and some odd months unrolled the way they did.

First, it meant that I got to meet my wonderful, loving, and patient boyfriend, Rogue. It also meant that I got work at 2 awesome jobs that I would have missed out on had I fast tracked the Peace Corps. Bar tending with the crew at John’s Alley Tavern was one of the best experiences of my life. I love all of you guys and wish you all the best over the next 2 years!!

My second, and much more career oriented job, was with the International Research and Agricultural Development office at WSU. This too was a fantastic opportunity and wonderful experience, where I once again hit the jackpot with supportive and patient coworkers. I can’t thank you all enough for all that you’ve taught me and for giving me the opportunity to learn and grow as much as I could in such a short time. The Peace Corps is getting a lot more volunteer out of me than they initially bargained for thanks to you all !!

I am excited to follow the lives of my friends and loved ones while I’m gone, and hope that you all are as excited as I am to see what adventures, and misadventures, Madagascar holds for me. I feel so lucky to get to live out this dream and to have people in my life who are both supportive and encouraging. I will miss you all very much, and am so lucky I have so many wonderful people to look forward to coming home to! These past 2 years would have been so empty without you all, and I know that even from a distance you all will help me through these next 2 years. Thanks again for all of your love, support, encouragement and words of wisdom, you all have given me the best going away presents- memories I can cherish and smile about on tough days!

I hate to say goodbye, I prefer instead to say “Until we meet again”-

Kim

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2013 16:28

    Good luck Kim.. u make me soooo proud.. following ur dreams and taking what u believe in halfway across the world all the way to Madagascar. Now we are geographically much closer than before!! i wish u the best girl.. u are a true ROCKSTAR!

    Like

  2. Jessica M permalink
    February 26, 2013 22:02

    Have fun, but we will miss you!!

    Like

  3. Paul Castelin permalink
    March 8, 2013 22:22

    Kim, couldn’t be more proud of you following your dreams! Also, very reflective on your part to recognize that things work out in their own time, not always the way or as quickly as we like. Your Uncle Paul has seen that happen many times in his life! Love you!! Will we be able to Skype with you on occasion once you get in-country?

    Like

    • April 6, 2013 08:54

      Yes I will be able to skype once we get internet figured out a bit better. I am planning on writing a page dedicated to my site, with more details, but I should have really good mobile service there, which means internet stick, which means skype! At least “often” is more than once a month if I can afford it!! Hope all is well.
      Love you
      Kim

      Like

Leave a Reply

