Skip to content

Goat in my Garden

July 27, 2013

Sun and water

Soil and time

Turns seeds to stalks with leaves

 

I was so happy to see my garden green

I dug down deep

I mixed manure

I watered and waited

Finally small shoots poked through

Then leaves and greens and fine broad leafy things

Made my garden a miracle to behold

 

Then a goat ate my garden.

It’s true. For days I was nothing but blue

Lamenting my loss

Regretting the cost

Of the blisters on my hands

 

It left me nothing to show

Of the seeds I had sown

But bare earth and some droppings brown

 

I now have a wall that stands up quite tall

Against goats, children,

 

now how to deal with….

 

……Crab grass!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

