Skip to content

Birthday Wishes

September 12, 2013

Hey all- this is going to be a short call for help. I have a birthday coming up and lately have been making some very poor reading choices (Madame Bovary, Tess D’Ubervilles, House of Sand and Fog). Individually these books would be sad, but together they are damn depressing, and not at all what I should be reading after a bad day. SO My birthday request- send me your favorite book titles, authors, or pdfs of fun reading materials. My only requirement is that the main female character in the written word not commit suicide at the end (ummmm spoiler alert! BTW). Thanks Love you all, will hopefully have time to post more at the end of the month! Cheers!

Kim

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Jarie permalink
    September 12, 2013 19:23

    Hi Kim!

    What format works best for you to read books?

    Great idea to get uplifting books to refill your “gas tank”! You have so much going out, that you need to refill more often!! I am sending you a big hug and a big smile!
    Love you! Aunt Jarie

    Like

  2. Ashley permalink
    September 13, 2013 01:12

    Ew I read this and cringed, why don’t you just read Bleak House and Grapes of Wrath while you are at it. Ugh. I hated Tess of the D’Ubervilles and I had an entire class of reading Madame Bovary in French in the CH. I’m trying to think of something good that I have read, or uplifting….as I think about it I realize I’ve kind of been reading a lot of historical fiction lately. hmmm. How is your access to books? Do you need older classics to find in a library or a book store there, or what? AND finally, is it possible to mail things to you? Like DHL or something?

    Like

    • September 13, 2013 16:00

      haha yeah poor choices that I didnt realize how poor- there are a lot of Kindle books on backup harddrives of volunteers floating around the country. I don’t think it would be hard for me to put a request out to the volunteer group for certain books. DHL is retardedly expensive. There is a library in my town but it is always locked. It probably is just a breeding ground for Rats- think its actually funded by the OIF- hahahahaa!! Anyways just titles for now would be great or PDFs of good articles from online. Love you guys!

      Like

  3. Karie Davidson permalink
    September 17, 2013 23:48

    Kimmie! I haven’t been reading too much lately…unfortunately. But I am currently trying to get through the new Dan Brown book, “Inferno” and it is really good. Also I heard “Bossy Pants” by Tina Fey is hilarious…it’s also collecting dust on my bookshelf haha. I hope one of those helps lighten the mood!

    Like

  4. Jessica Moser permalink
    September 18, 2013 22:15

    “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” -Jenny Lawson (weird but funny…she started out as a blogger). And if you haven’t read Tina Fey’s “Bossypants”, that’s pretty good, too. I haven’t read this yet, but it’s on my to-read list: David Sedaris’ “Let’s Explore Diabetes With Owls”, described as observational comedy

    Hope that gives you some comedic relief. Sent ya an e-mail back because I’m afraid to text.

    Until next time…too-dah-loo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

