Skip to content

Headwaters in Winter

January 27, 2017

You’ve paved the way for me

Hoof prints paw prints tiny talons in snow

I’d be lost without your highway 

Meandering through cedar and pine

Solitude. But I’m not alone 

The evidence of your presence I’ve followed for 5 miles now

I see you’ve stripped trees of bark

Crisscrossed this path

Taken off straight up slope.

The memory of your company

Among the softly gidled glittering pines

Gives me pause as I give thanks 

For the ability to run the woods with you

Wild free fearlessly

Softly lit trees

Broken branch with hoar frost impossibly parallel to the forest floor

Challenges the laws of gravity

Challenges my law of gravity, so I do nothing at that sight but laugh

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

